Nine lucky riders were the recipients of the 2017 Leo Conroy Maclay Grant (LCMG), that allowed them to compete in the prestigious ASPCA Maclay National Championship. The grant was established in 2015 to honor long-time horseman Leo Conroy, who co-managed the National Horse Show and was Chairman of the National Horse Show Equitation Committee.

As the pool of applicants grows each year, it becomes increasingly clear how important the LCMG is to the career of so many riders. This year’s recipients were:

Ashley Eklund

Abbygale Funk

Brianna Gonzalez

Hailey-Louise Johns

Juliette Joseph

Sophie Lang

Fallon O'Connell

Ada Rohan

Katie Schell

The 2017 Maclay National Championship began with 177 horses and riders in Saturday's preliminary round of over fences competition. The top 25-riders returned for the final round of competition on Sunday and ultimately, Madison Goetzmann took home the top honors.

In its 134th year, the National Horse Show has come to be known as one of America's premier indoor equestrian events, with its rich history and classical traditions. The ASPCA Maclay National Championship, which first began in 1933, is one of the most significant competitions for junior riders in the United States and is the last of four big indoor equitation finals held throughout the year.

The National Horse Show is happy to be able to help deserving riders follow their dreams and looks forward to the 2018 edition of the ASPCA Maclay National Championship.

Thank You Sponsors


  • Clarion: (859) 233-0512

  • Marriott Griffin Gate: (859) 231-5100

  • Embassy Suites: (859) 455-5000

  • Residence Inn: (859) 231-6191

  • Courtyard Marriott: (888) 253-4646

  • Four Points Sheraton: (859) 259-1311

Visitor Information