• 1883

    Founded in New York by a group of influential sportsmen. The event was held at the original Madison Square Garden.

  • 1883-1905

    The National featured regularly in illustration for Harper’s Weekly and other magazines by artists like Howard Chandler Christy and Charles Dana Gibson.

  • 1887

    The National Horse Show directory, listing directors and 920 members, formed the basis for Louis Keller’s first New York Social Register.

  • 1890

    The National Horse Show moved to the second Madison Square Garden, also located on Madison Square in New York.

  • 1909

    Alfred G. Vanderbilt, then president of the National Horse Show, made the show international by inviting British Cavalry officers to compete.

  • 1915

    Eleanora Sears became the first woman to ride a stride at the
    NationalHorse Show.

  • 1915-1925

    The National became an American military competition. Notable competitors included Generals John J. “Black Jack” Pershing, William “Billy” Mitchell and George S. Patton.

  • 1926

    The National moved to the third Madison Square Garden located on 8th Avenue at 50th Street. Garden III would witness 40 years of National history and continuing evolution.

  • 1933

    The first National Horsemanship Championship for the ASPCA Alfred B. Maclay Trophy was held. The “Horsemanship Cup” was donated by Alfred B. Maclay, ASPCA officer and President of the NHS from 1922-24.

  • 2011

    The National Horse Show's first year at the Kentucky Horse Park with Alltech, Inc. as the Title Sponsor.

  • 2014

    The National Horse Show welcomes Canadian Pacific (CP) as our Title Sponsor.

  • 2015

    The CP National Horse Show began hosting the Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping Lexington.

  • 2017

    The CP National Horse Show hosts the inaugural NHS 3'3" Equitation Championships.